“ARE YOU LONESOME TONIGHT?” ~ Why does the pretty bird sing?

A dear friend of mine is starting a Facebook group for single men and women who are looking for their soul-mates. She is extraordinarily astute in facilitating groups, discussions and counseling sessions.

She recently posted a question to the group ~~ “When you feel lonely, what do you do?”  (Some possibilities include cry, sleep, call a friend, go out, pray…. etc.)

I feel compelled here to make a distinction between being alone and feelings of loneliness:

Alone: single, solitary; unaccompanied, unattended. Alone, lone, lonely, lonesome all imply being without companionship or association. Alone is colorless unless reinforced by all; it then suggests solitariness or desolation: alone in the house; all alone on an island. Lone is somewhat poetic or is intended humorously: a lone sentinel.  Lonely implies a sad or disquieting. ~ Dictionary.com 

Loneliness is another matter, it is a state of being. If ongoing for long periods of time, can lead to disease or even death.

unhappy as a result of being without the companionship of others:.
causing or resulting from the state of being alone: a lonely existence.
isolated, unfrequented, or desolate
without companions; solitary

This state of being has been on my mind lately as I am experiencing it differently than I have in the past. Before my move 6 months ago to a 1 room studio basement apartment, I was living with my adult daughter and family.( for 6+ years and then 9 months after my husband died). Then I decided I needed to be independent and “test the waters” on my own. In all my years, I have NEVER lived all by myself so this is a new experience. I certainly pray, cry out to “ABBA”*, and I try to assess what is triggering the extreme emotion and then just let it flood my being until it lifts, sometimes its minutes, sometimes hours, sometimes days. I thank G-d for the ability to FEEL and also for life’s little distractions so I don’t fall into depression. It is not easy, in any case as I am a sensitive soul and feel deeply. But I also thank H”S** for the people He has put into my life to soothe some of the pain.

What are your experiences with loneliness?

There has been monumental research in the disease entity of LONELINESS which I hope to share with you in another blog site soon.

I  would like to here from you. Please leave comments in the box below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Translations:

*ABBA – Father
**H”S – abbreviation for  “HaShem, (Hebrew transliteration), literally means The Name, in honorable reference to God

Published by: LogoTrek

I am a retired Registered Nurse; owner of The Well Balanced Soul; a doTerra Wellness Advocate; Essentialist; founder of the Touch of Kindness Project (a youth volunteer outreach to our aging and Elder population); Creator of "Katz in Hats"- re-sale of women's hats, scarves and accessories - proceeds to assist the community needy, and the Administrative Coordinator for The Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy in Israel where I am also a student. I love to inspire and ignite or re-ignite the fire and light within others. As a 68 year entrepreneur and great grandmother of 8, I am an example that age need not be a barrier to success! I am also the author of the forth-coming book "The Compassionate Healer".

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

