The Most Important Songs In My Life

Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

These are the most important songs:

1. Hearing  “I love you” emanating from the tender lips of my adoring soul-mate. They mean that my whole life has meaning.

2. Babies crying. The cacophony of hideous bawling from several creatures all at once. It means the the future is ensured.

3. Bird Song. Oscillating notes, trilling vocals, painful screeches. All have meaning to God. He hears their prayers as well as mine and understands exactly what they say and mean. The songs are beautiful, natural and convey that all is well with the real world.

This challenge, to write about the three most important songs in my life is more than challenging, it is almost painful. Every era of my life has had its momentary favorites until another has shouldered its way in and nudged its way to the top. I will start with these and perhaps another post will expose other “most important” songs in my life.

When I was a kid – a little kid, I LOVED  “How Much is that Doggie in the Window?” by Patti Page (1953). We were a small family of three at that time  (I now have 1 sister 6 years younger than me). We lived in a cramped 2 room tiny apartment in Brooklyn, New York. NO PETS ALLOWED! It was hard enough for my parents to take care of just us, trying to make “ends meet”. We barely had enough food, scraped by with our rent and with both Mom and Dad working 2 jobs, no energy for much of anything else. Dad was also a semi-professional musician so of course we had to have a radio and a phonograph in the house. A virtual necessary luxury. Big band ’40’s music blared from that contraption whenever Daddy was home. He sang and danced with me and it was sheer joy! Mom was a bit less tolerant, though we never truly understood why. So the Doggie in the Window also became my heart’s desire. I could not have one of my own, so I borrowed one from Patti Page.

When I became a little older, a television was brought into the house. Not to be missed was the Howdy Doody Show! Just for us kids, We learned to tell what time it was (“It’s Howdy Doody Time!”). (1947-1960). Plenty of catchy songs in that show, each becoming a favorite in its turn. I loved that show so much that I found myself in the “Peanut Gallery” twice! How great was that! The highlight of every kid”s life!

Then later came the teen years filled with angst and hormones. We were now living in a tract home in New Jersey and I had my own bedroom. Many thanks and enduring love and appreciation to my paternal grandparents for helping my parents move out of the “slums”. (By the way, the rhythmic  music of the trains rattling across the “EL” every night in Brooklyn was a hypnotic sound that helped me get to sleep every night). Pre-teen me had a zillion favorites but what has emerged to the forethought is Bobby Vinton’s “She wore Blue Velvet“. (1963) Oh, so romantic! Oh how I wished I were the girl he was singing about and to. I knew in my heart that if it had been me, I would never had left him! He was so handsome and had a lovely voice. When the school dance came up, I tried to convince my mom to make a dress for me in, you guessed it – blue velvet. It was an unsuccessful venture.

Then came the “British Invasion” in December 1963 and my fickle heart swooned after Paul McCartney and the Beatles. “I Want to Hold Your Hand” and “She Loves You(yeah, yeah, yeah) took over the radio and phono! And especially for me as these “Mopheads” soothed my miserable soul while stuck in bed with the chicken pox.

I’ll stop at this juncture for now. Watch for part 2 of “The Most Important Songs In My Life”

Published by: LogoTrek

I am a retired Registered Nurse; owner of The Well Balanced Soul; a doTerra Wellness Advocate; Essentialist; founder of the Touch of Kindness Project (a youth volunteer outreach to our aging and Elder population); Creator of "Katz in Hats"- re-sale of women's hats, scarves and accessories - proceeds to assist the community needy, and the Administrative Coordinator for The Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy in Israel where I am also a student. I love to inspire and ignite or re-ignite the fire and light within others. As a 68 year entrepreneur and great grandmother of 8, I am an example that age need not be a barrier to success! I am also the author of the forth-coming book "The Compassionate Healer".

Categories Uncategorized2 Comments

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Songs In My Life”

  1. As always, I love having you read my blog, and I read yours, Miryam. I love knowing that you are in Israel! I trust that you are well today. I have another friend named Miriam, a body-worker and intuitive in Berkeley.

Leave a Reply

