“THE COPY CURE” CONTEST ENTRY ESSAY

Anyone who has been following me, realizes that I make entries on a very sporadic and in an  inconsistent way.

CONFESSION:  I am sporadic and inconsistent and still suffer from bouts of “writer’s block”! 

(You were not surprised by that, were you?)

So, I entered a contest for a free course offered by Marie Forleo, et al at “The Copy Cure”. If you don’t know who Marie is, I urge you to go pay her a visit here.  She is a young, bright business entrepreneur, coach, former dancer and bartender. After a few episodes of MarieTV, I was hooked! Go! Pay her a visit! (but then come back to me!)

Marie and her pals created a course with me in mind (but she did not know that). AND she offered several scholarships (for people like me). SO, I entered! Below, I have copied my copy for why I should win a scholarship for their course. We’ll see what happens! Here’s hoping!

Their Questions:

  • Which one of the 3 “secrets” do you struggle with the most, and why?
  • If The Copy Cure landed in your lap, how would stronger writing help you, your business, your family and community? What tangible, specific difference would this make to you and those around you?
  • What else do you want us to know about you? [interpret that however you want!]

My response:

Of the 3 secrets (CPR)​, I probably struggle the most with the R – resonance ’cause I realize that I do write in my own voice and not so much my audience’s. WHY? “cause I’m probably considered an old fart!

At age 66, retired and widowed, I am re-finding myself and re-defining myself. Seeking my voice and attempting to help others along the way. As a kid in school (eons ago), writing was a very strong talent I had. During the ensuing years, “life” took the driver’s wheel and kinda took off on it’s own. Leaving the writing to a blue moon hobby. So now, I dusted off the typewriter -er laptop and tested the waters with a blog that I am inconsistently posting on. 

Now, I need to earn some money and I’ve been hooked on MarieTV for a little while so I’ve become inspired! Thank you and to all your staff behind the scenes who put all that together!  I love it! I admit, after I saw my first episode I thought “Who is this sassy kid?” and then I watched a second episode and a third. Now I love you and want to adopt you! (In all seriousness, though, your spirituality resonates with me.)

I mentioned that I needed to start earning some money. And so does my talented daughter who is an author, lecturer and motivational speaker. But this can be quite difficult to book on a regular basis. So I decided I wanted to promote her and become her “agent”. Your course will be just the thing I need to bring my skills into the 21st century and help pay the rent.

One more thing about me, I am a rock and rollin’ Jewish great-grandma!

(P.S. To my blog readers: I’ll let you know if I won!)

Published by: LogoTrek

I am a retired Registered Nurse; owner of The Well Balanced Soul; a doTerra Wellness Advocate; Essentialist; founder of the Touch of Kindness Project (a youth volunteer outreach to our aging and Elder population); Creator of "Katz in Hats"- re-sale of women's hats, scarves and accessories - proceeds to assist the community needy, and the Administrative Coordinator for The Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy in Israel where I am also a student. I love to inspire and ignite or re-ignite the fire and light within others. As a 68 year entrepreneur and great grandmother of 8, I am an example that age need not be a barrier to success! I am also the author of the forth-coming book "The Compassionate Healer".

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on ““THE COPY CURE” CONTEST ENTRY ESSAY”

  1. Sorry to say, I was NOT one of the winners. There were 981 entries and Marie and Laura read every single one of them. Even they had a tremendously difficult task because of good and deserving everyone;s entry was. I wish the 5 winners much success during the course and everyone else who has (and will) benefit from these fine ladies! Let’s cure the crappy copy!

Leave a Reply

